February 24, 2006

  • What is wrong with people?

    Sometimes things happen that cause you to ask the simple question”Why?” I was watching my daily dose of one of the cable news stations last week when I heard a blurb about a couple slain in their homes close to where my parents live. I didn’t think much of it other than the fact that it’s a very safe area.This was their first murder in the area in years. A couple of days later I received a phone call from my mother, and she went on to ask if I heard about the murders. She then proceeded to tell me who it was. It turns out that the guy was an old childhood friend who used to live in my subdivision. We used to play basketball together among other childhood things. When I heard this news my first reaction was shock, then sadness.

    This guy was one of the nicest people you could meet. It was a long time since I last saw him, but my father still used to run into him at a grocery market in our area, and would chat. He would ask about me and my brother, and how we are doing. Supposedly, the alleged murderers tortured him, and to make matters even worse, his wife was pregnant. I stay away from reading any news articles about the specifics, because I know it will sadden me more. I’ll post a link to some news articles that google news brings up about it in case anyone is interested:

    News Articles

    I just want to send out my condolences to the family and friends of Scott and Melissa Berels. You will be greatly missed by all those whose life you touched. Senseless murder like this that hits close to home really causes one to think a lot about him/herself and the world we live in.

    -Adam

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *